Mills and Motts Cottage

Historical Sites and Heritage Locations

Explore two exceptional Victorian Heritage Listed cottages.
Motts Cottage
Mills Cottage Port Fairy
Mott's Cottage the original timber cottage was built in 1842 by William Bird, a blacksmith. The two-storied stone building was completed in 1851, when it is understood that the building was used as a boarding house. The cottage has had a number of subsequent owners and was occupied by Sarah Mott in 1918, giving the cottage its title.

Mills' Cottage, built in 1841, the original cottage is Victoria's oldest surviving dwelling. The property was acquired by Charles Mills, a whaling captain, in 1843. Charles' elder brother, Captain John Mills moved into the property and in 1856 added the larger substantial structure at the front of the building.

The cottages are open to the public on the first and third Saturday of the month and every Saturday throughout School Holidays. Closed winter: June, July and August.

Extra opening days for summer: 21 Dec and 28 Dec and every Saturday in January and February,

Information

Address

40 Gipps Street, Port Fairy, Victoria, 3284

Travel Inspirations