Queanbeyan-Palerang Heritage Library

Galleries, Museums and Collections

The Queanbeyan-Palerang Local History collection has moved to the former Queanbeyan Council Chambers building, and now forms part of the Heritage Library.
Image of 1920's red brick building with cream portico, green arched windows, and two flag poles.
Image of large reading room with table and chairs, book shelves and round suspended lights
Image of a red brick fire place with historic photo display and green chairs
Image of display cabinets with electric jug collection
Their extensive Local History Collection contains a wealth of historical resources with a wide selection of books on the history of Bungendore, Braidwood, Queanbeyan and the surrounding region. It is of particular interest to local residents, visitors, historians, descendants of early families, researchers and students. The Heritage Library also hosts revolving exhibitions of historical material from the collection, curated by their specialist staff.

The collection includes:
The Queanbeyan Age from 1860
The Queanbeyan Chronicle from 1976
The Bungendore Mirror from March 2004 to September 2015
The Bungendore Bulletin from May 1990 to December 2013
The Braidwood Dispatch from October 1966 to June 1970
A general genealogy collection and small map collection
Historic monographs from the old Queanbeyan School of Art
Early Queanbeyan rates books
The Sheedy Memorial Local History Collection
The collection of Frederick J McCauley

Please drop in to visit their Public Reading Room with its historic book collection or make a research appointment with their team.

Information

Address

253 Crawford Street, New South Wales, 2620